Tuesday, October 19, 2021

As It Discloses Details of Fund, the Green Climate Fund Revises Its Strategy


As richer nations sign up for the United Nations’ climate change fund, increasingly impoverished countries are refusing to participate.

India and China, the two biggest users of coal in the world, each said on Wednesday that their participation in the fund’s most crucial fund would depend on how much money the wealthy nations provide. And that pressure has led to the fund committing to becoming more transparent about how the money is spent.

The United States is the top pledge so far of more than $4 billion of the $9 billion in U.N. money pledged for the fund, called the Green Climate Fund. Norway pledged an additional $1 billion on Wednesday. France is also committed to spending $1 billion of its own money.

In a statement, the U.S. ambassador to the United Nations, Nikki Haley, said the Fund was doing a good job of “shifting the conversation” away from “one of economics, and one of climate, toward one of humanity and protection.”

Ms. Haley added that President Donald Trump had promised to allocate $100 billion for developing countries, part of an effort to help countries avoid the worst effects of climate change. But that was before the United States decided to withdraw from the Paris climate accords, arguing the climate deal would cost American jobs.

“We are not opposed to climate change,” Ms. Haley said. “Our goal is to accelerate growth and success of renewable energy in developing nations.”

The United States wants other countries to allocate some of the funds to international and domestic projects like solar and wind farms in developing countries.

Other donors to the fund include Norway, Denmark, France, Germany, Spain, Canada, Britain, Australia, Denmark, Sweden, New Zealand, Italy, the Netherlands, Malta, Norway, Belgium, Poland, South Korea, the Czech Republic, the United Arab Emirates, Australia, France, the United Kingdom, Belgium, the Netherlands, Malta, Chile, Austria, the Commonwealth of Independent States, Algeria, Algeria, Malaysia, South Africa, Nigeria, Romania, Ukraine, Azerbaijan, Norway, Sweden, Kazakhstan, Korea, Sweden, Kazakhstan, New Zealand, the Czech Republic, Latvia, Slovenia, Ireland, Slovenia, the Philippines, Sweden, Denmark, the Czech Republic, Bulgaria, Croatia, the Slovak Republic, Poland, Slovakia, France, the United Kingdom, Ukraine, the United Arab Emirates, Lithuania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Hungary, Lebanon, Egypt, Romania, Slovenia, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Georgia, Hungary, Albania, Serbia, Montenegro, Afghanistan, Pakistan, Nepal, Bangladesh, Cambodia, Nepal, Tuvalu, Bhutan, Ireland, Tonga, Brunei, Sri Lanka, the Maldives, Paraguay, Tonga, The Dominican Republic, St. Lucia, Belize, St. Kitts and Nevis, The Bahamas, Haiti, Solomon Islands, Panama, Peru, Paraguay, Uruguay, Chile, Costa Rica, Comoros, Ecuador, Lesotho, Cameroon, Rwanda, Swaziland, Lesotho, Ivory Coast, Vanuatu, Mali, Madagascar, Dominican Republic, Guatemala, Guatemala, Sierra Leone, Senegal, Somalia, Liberia, Namibia, Gambia, Mauritania, Mauritius, The West Bank and Gaza Strip, Papua New Guinea, Seychelles, the United Arab Emirates, Fiji, Djibouti, Sudan, the Seychelles, Ghana, Sierra Leone, the Dominican Republic, Mali, Uganda, Eritrea, Burundi, Ivory Coast, the Gambia, Yemen, Djibouti, Kenya, Kenya, Tanzania, Nigeria, Togo, Somalia, Gabon, Tanzania, DRC, Mauritania, Mali, Ghana, Sierra Leone, Liberia, Ethiopia, and Congo, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Chad, Ivory Coast, Niger, Nigeria, Togo, Rwanda, Guinea, Burkina Faso, Niger, and Mali

Representatives from the United Nations, the U.S. and the European Union met on Wednesday for a rare meeting to discuss how to communicate and deliver information to other donors, particularly from the United States, to ensure that they are “fully satisfied, and ready to provide their pledged money,” according to a joint statement.

More articles

Latest article